The House (2017)

July 23, 2017 1283 88 No Comments


The House is a 2017 American comedy film directed by Andrew J. Cohen, and co-written by Cohen and Brendan O’Brien. The film stars Will Ferrell, Amy Poehler, Jason Mantzoukas, Ryan Simpkins, Nick Kroll, Allison Tolman, Rob Huebel, Michaela Watkins, Cedric Yarbrough and Jeremy Renner, and follows a couple that opens an underground casino in their friend’s basement in order to pay for their daughter’s college tuition.

Principal photography began on September 14, 2015 in Los Angeles. The film was released on June 30, 2017, by Warner Bros. Pictures, received negative reviews from critics and has grossed $30 million worldwide.

After losing their daughter’s college scholarship, husband and wife Scott (Ferrell) and Kate (Poehler) team up with their neighbor (Mantzoukas) to start an illegal casino in their basement to raise money to pay for their daughter’s tuition. One day, in a fit of pique, Scott accidentally chops off the middle finger of a gambler whom he suspected was counting cards. This earns him a nickname “The Butcher” and makes the whole city afraid of his family, which inadvertently increases their profits. Several thousand dollars away from gaining 500 thousand, they are caught by a city councillor Bob Schaeffer (Kroll) and a police officer (Huebel) who confiscate their money and order them to close down the casino. Nonetheless, they continue their business in the neighbor’s house which burns down after being invaded by a mobster (Renner) who works with the man whose finger had been chopped off. Having admitted their plot to their daughter, Scott and Kate team up with her and the police officer who had let them loose to steal the money back from Schaeffer. After being caught, Schaeffer reveals his plot to steal money from the city budget for him and his lover (Tolman), who leaves him and returns back to her husband (Scovel). Schaeffer is arrested while Scott and Kate use the money they took back from him to pay for their daughter’s tuition.

Directed by Andrew Jay Cohen
Produced by

Brendan O’Brien
Andrew J. Cohen
Joe Drake
Jessica Elbaum
Nathan Kahane
Will Ferrell
Adam McKay

Written by

Brendan O’Brien
Andrew Jay Cohen


Will Ferrell
Amy Poehler
Jason Mantzoukas
Nick Kroll
Jeremy Renner

Music by

Andrew Feltenstein
John Nau

Cinematography Jas Shelton
Edited by

Evan Henke
Mike Sale


New Line Cinema
Village Roadshow Pictures
RatPac-Dune Entertainment
Good Universe
Gary Sanchez Productions

Distributed by Warner Bros. Pictures
Release date

June 26, 2017 (TCL Chinese Theatre)
June 30, 2017 (United States)

Running time
88 minutes[1]
Country United States
Language English
Budget $40 million[2]
Box office $31.8 million[3]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.